Saint Louis Landmarks: World Bird Sanctuary

When I started looking into the World Bird Sanctuary, I was surprised. This is one of those unique niche organizations that must be somewhere, and this one is in Saint Louis. My hometown of Leiden, for instance, has been the home of the Pilgrim Fathers for a few years, and the scarce monuments scattered around the city draw a few tourists each year, but many people living in Leiden might never know where those monuments are and what they stand for. I pictured the World Bird Sanctuary in that category: somewhat obscure, but highly interesting for a very specific target audience.

The expression on the face of that owl made my day. Click picture for attribution and their website.

The expression on the face of that owl in the left bottom corner just made my day. Click picture for attribution and their website.

I’m still not convinced this is not the case, but it’s much less obscure than I thought. Since its inception in 1977, the World Bird Sanctuary now employs 25 people. The sanctuary functions as a hospital for birds of prey, a breeding ground for many types of birds, and an exciting destination for field trips. As I looked at the website, I was more and more impressed by the number of enviro-education program and less and less surprised the sanctuary made the list of landmarks. Who wouldn’t be touched by a sing-a-long program mixing components of bird show, songs about birds, and a concert? I know now I’m excited to try it out, and that’s quite an accomplishment for an obscure organization.

This blog post is part of a series on landmarks in Saint Louis. I take one of the 250 landmarks selected for the 250th anniversary of the city and look up some information. This way, I hope to get to know my new city a little better every week together with you, my readers.

4 thoughts on “Saint Louis Landmarks: World Bird Sanctuary

Leave a Reply

