99 Things To Do After Chuck Berry Dies

I vividly remember the first time it was clear I was going to follow Mrs Missouri (back then she was still Miss Missouri) to Saint Louis.
“What are the things we can do there?” I asked her.
“We can go to a baseball game.”
A long silence followed. Saint Louis suddenly seemed as attractive as Zoetermeer (it’s easily the most boring Dutch ‘city’ I can think of, look it up), but without the ski slope or rafting arena. Evidently, there was a reason they call it ‘flyover country’.

Kansas City must be somewhere in these corn fields, give me a holler if you find it.

Kansas City must be somewhere in these corn fields, give me a holler if you find it.

After two years visiting and nine months of living here, I’m never really bored. The last time I was, in the waiting room of a chiropractor’s office, I picked up a book with a list of ‘100 things to do in Saint Louis before you die’. I soon find out the list isn’t meant as a guideline for dying in Saint Louis, and I think the author is happy enough if you carry on doing things after you finish the list, but she managed to scrape together a hundred things to do. Actually, the book should be called ‘100 things to do in Saint Louis before you die, and 99 after Chuck Berry does’, but I bet the publisher didn’t think it would stick. Maybe he was hoping for an updated edition with a new 100th thing. Anyway, it was satisfying to see that we already did the most obvious bunch, but I got some solid ideas out of the list. I’m especially excited to see the St Louis Symphony Orchestra, because the writer made it sound like they did a lot of pop-culture mixed with classical music. Also on my list: a downtown bike ride in August at night and the Assembly series of speakers at Washington University. But if you’re visiting St Louis soon, I can recommend you all the things that sound way more spectacular and I already crossed off.

Now that Berry's an old fellow, he doesn't truly know how to hold a guitar, but seeing the legend should be enough.

Now that Berry’s an old fellow, he doesn’t truly know how to hold a guitar, but seeing the legend should be enough.

3 thoughts on “99 Things To Do After Chuck Berry Dies

Leave a Reply

