The Job Search Saga III: What Is Wrong With A Psychology Degree

As I roam the internet for jobs, sometimes people tell me to look for this and that website. Along those tips, I found the most peculiar job posting yet. The company was active in the health care industry, with which I have some affiliation. So far so good. I don’t truly remember what their wording was, but in in practice, the responsibilities and requirements for the position came down to this:
– experience in elderly care and back office work
– having a car that fits four people
– being able to drive said car
– willing to drive people around
– a high school degree

Basically a less cool version of a school bus driver, although for some reason I consider most jobs less cool.

Basically a less cool version of a school bus driver, although for some reason I consider most jobs less cool.

They are not kidding anyone, they just need someone to sweep the office and drive patients around for $11 an hour. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that, but I decided to check out the other position they had, as their career page showed both a position for those with and those without a BSc. degree. Two lines in, I recognized the requirements. There was one little difference:
– experience in elderly care and back office work
– having a car that fits four people
– being able to drive said car
– willing to drive people around
– a BSc. in psychology

According to real scientist, the only degree that really should be abbreviated with BS.

According to real scientists, the one degree that really should be abbreviated with BS.

Hourly pay you ask? You guessed it: a generous $11 an hour. Now of course we all know Psychology is what you choose to do in college when you don’t know what you actually want to do, but sure enough you have learned some valuable skills that differentiate you from not having spend a good four years studying? According to this company (in the mental health care field mind you), you haven’t. As long as you drive your car and sweep in nice strokes, aren’t we all the same?

7 thoughts on “The Job Search Saga III: What Is Wrong With A Psychology Degree

    • Psychology classes are fun indeed! I basically filled a lot of extra-curriculum time with psychology classes. In fact, I followed so many, I accidentally got myself a minor in second language development (I also followed additional linguistics courses). I like psychology, but I was always wondering about the hundreds of people competing for a very small number of jobs. Turns out, some employers are wondering about that too. Hope you’re enjoying your time outside the field though!

Leave a Reply

