Settling For Life: Getting A Ride

Ever since I arrived, a lot has changed. My daily tasks have gone from being a full time student to cleaning and painting. Also, I am less mobile. Don’t worry, it’s all in good health, but it seems that you really need a car to move about Saint Louis. I didn’t even have a driver’s license. Well, I still don’t. But I have a permit now. I used to hear all those jokes about the DMV and would never get them. Now I do. We used a Friday to close on our house (hence the cleaning and painting that’s going on), get our marriage license, get my driver’s permit and then send miss Missouri on her bachelorette party. Both the house closing and marriage license took less time than we expected, so after we picked up my permit, we’d have all afternoon left.

Fun fact: I was looking for a normal picture of a DMV, but google autofill gave me the combination DMV+hell.

Fun fact: I was looking for a normal picture of a DMV, but google autofill gave me the combination DMV+hell.

Except we didn’t. At the Highway Patrol Testing Center, they told me I needed not just my visa, but an additional paper. We drove to the library, printed out the paper, and went back. I took my test(s, to my shame), and then I strolled to the actual DMV just six doors down. After a half hour wait, the lady behind the counter told me that I needed a letter from the social security office to prove that I didn’t have a social security number. I was driven to the social security office somewhere deeper in town (a 30 minute drive), got my letter in no time and waited for miss Missouri to come and pick me up from running errands. All of the afternoon had passed, but I had everything I needed and a lot of frustration built up. In the picture on my permit, I therefore look like I have a serious case of PTSD and am on the verge of attacking someone. Also, they made me sign an additional form on which I declared not to have a social security number. Riddle me that.

"Very good. Now this one states that you have just signed a redundant form making the same claim as the form you had to drive an hour for to get. Right there at the bottom, yes."

“Very good. Now this one confirms that you have just signed a redundant form making the same claim as the form you were driving all around town for. We want that black on white. Right there at the bottom, yes.”

Shortly after that, we were able to buy a car from friends that were looking to get rid of their car in a good fashion. Always in for a win-win, we bought their car, fully aware that it would take a towing to the garage before it would work. We have a car now, but I think it is pretty funny that this is the first time I ever saw it in action:

2013-07-31 18.32.52

9 thoughts on “Settling For Life: Getting A Ride

  1. I can soooo related to the redundant form dilemma. The last time I had to go in to renew my license was last year. I’ve had a US license to drive for the past 47 years so you’d think that would be good enough but noooo…I had to get a state certified copy. Not that I didn’t have a birth certificate, but it was from the mid 20th century where the certificate was hand written and copies were white letters on black. How did I get the coveted state issued birth certificate? I walked into the health department, showed them my driver’s license, told them the hospital of my birth and 5 minutes later I walked out with it. 🙂

  2. I know exactly how you feel, everything I need to do in France to get anything takes forever and the lists of supporting documents they give you ahead of time are always inaccurate so I have to go chase down more paper (after waiting in line and then I have to come back and wait in line some more). It makes me rageful. That said, the only easy thing I have been through was getting a French Drivers license, it took me about 10 minutes.

  3. Pingback: A Horse Shoe Of Traffic Flows: Getting Lost On A Straight Line | visitingmissouri

  4. Pingback: The Spectacular Bureaucracy of the DMV: D Is For Duck Tape | visitingmissouri

Leave a Reply

