Transitional Life: Transport

Sure I’ve mentioned this before, but my new life will have a very different way of getting around. Whereas in my life so far, the bicycle has been my main mode of transportation, this is all about to change. I’ll get a sports car and drive everywhere. Okay, so maybe the sports car is an exaggeration. But I think I’ll be in a car more than I have ever been before. This comes with a few changes.

For example, how to move stuff around on anything else than a bicycle?

For example, how to move stuff around on anything else than a bicycle?

In the Netherlands, I never had to drive anywhere. Due to the dense way of how towns and cities are made up, you can cycle anywhere, or even walk. For bigger distances, you can ride the train for free, nationwide (as a college student, which I have been for quite a while). The fact that I never had to drive was pretty convenient, because I never had a driver’s license. Actually, the first time I came to visit Missouri, I looked up that is was possible to obtain a Missouri driver’s license when you’re engaged. Miss Missouri and I went to the DMV, declared ourselves engaged and went to see if they would give me a license. Apparently, there’s such a thing as a fiance visa, which I’m getting right now (I’ve got my interview at the consulate as you read this, so feel free to cross your fingers).

I still go there every once in a while. It's one of my favorite places, right after the dentist.

I still go there every once in a while. It’s one of my favorite places, right after the dentist.

I’ll miss my cycling. It’s quite the exercise, especially with my side job (I cycle about 50 miles every day I’m working). At least I’ll now know that whether it’s raining, snowing or hot beyond belief, I’ll be in a 70F car getting me from A to B. Maybe that makes up for the lack of exercise.

Okay, of course I want to get a license, so this is your chance to mold my behavior before I actually hit the road. Any tips? Anything that really annoys you in other drivers?

6 thoughts on “Transitional Life: Transport

  1. I never had a bicycle in London, but the Tube and the busses and my own two feet were completely sufficient, so I didn’t have a license, either. I loved it. And yeah, it was much easier to stay in shape when I had to walk everywhere.

Leave a Reply

