Transitional Life: Privacy

First of all, I’d like to welcome to this blog my future employer, my secret admirer, a low-level employer at the NSA and of course whoever is doing my background screening at the Dutch consulate (not even a parking ticket, how about that?). If you’re looking for more, feel free to explore the recommended posts on the top right of the page. As you all know, I’m moving to the US in a few weeks. One of the things that is absolutely going to change is my privacy. I think there will be both more and less.

I'm assuming nobody is drilling any holes in their tablets, so that's a plus.

I’m assuming nobody is drilling any holes in their tablets, so that’s a plus.

The average foreigner may not realize this, but the Netherlands is a pretty crowded place. I’d say that town houses are the most common form of housing in the entire range of middle class homes. The streets are narrower than in the US and the Dutch don’t like curtains that much. This means that whenever you go for a walk, you can look into every single house. You’d have to use some subtleness, because it’s considered rude, but how could you not inspect people’s furniture, wall decorations and who’s picking his nose when the possibility is that clear? After all, everyone does it! In the States, this looks slightly different, so I strongly believe that this form of privacy will improve when I have my American house (curtains and all).

My uncle (who has been visiting Michigan and California for quite some time) managed to find this little gem.

My uncle (who has been visiting Michigan and California for quite some time) managed to find this little gem. I think the colored pictures are photoshopped, because this must be the 50’s.

The other form? Maybe it doesn’t even change that much. This never was a political blog, and I have no intention to start now. But I believe that in itself will tell you more than enough.

3 thoughts on “Transitional Life: Privacy

Leave a Reply

