Classy White Tennis Shoes: A Modern Fairytale

This post actually combines two topics that I share more often: white tennis shoes and American restaurants. Upon every arrival on American soil, miss Missouri and I visit the local Applebee’s, honoring a tradition that started the first time I arrived. I see a lot of other restaurants as well, but we don’t go to ‘real’ restaurants that often. You know, the ones were a booth is not the best place to sit and you actually spend longer than half an hour indoors.

When we celebrated our engagement, we naturally did go out to a nice restaurant. We had a good glass of wine, an appetizer that lasted for over an hour and spend about three hours in total sitting at our table. Of course, one pays for these things as well, which I why I started wondering why all the waiters looked like mall walkers. Casual pants (actually, jeans or really short shorts) and tennis shoes seemed to be the dress code for those serving, whereas everybody being served had clearly spent some time picking out a shirt with buttons, instead of the Cardinal-wear that most Missourians live in. In the Netherlands, the only requirement for any job in waiting (except for fast food chains) is a neat pair of black pants and black shoes. Shining shoes are more important than the ability to hold plates. This may sound strange, but if you try and make a place look classy, why do you let your personnel walk around like they’re just coming back from the gym? Dear Americans, there are two areas that you grossly misunderstand in life: clothing and waiting. To think I tip you for half of those…

A family of American waiters

10 thoughts on “Classy White Tennis Shoes: A Modern Fairytale

  1. Hilarious–because so true. Let it be known, though, that at Starbucks, at least, you have to wear black or khaki trousers, and black or brown shoes. (They can be tennis shoes–we call them “sneakers” up here–but not white.)

  2. I hate dressing formally for anything. I’m just not a formal person. When I worked in an office at the nearby university I did wear khakis and collared shirts, but now that I work in a place that doesn’t have that expectation…I don’t. Jeans and a t-shirt/sweatshirt FOREVER!

    • At least it saves you the troubling from getting me food. I for one love dressing formally, as my hatred against white tennis shoes might suggest, but if I’m honest, I spend most of the Missouri summer in shorts and a shirt. I would secretly like dressing up for work, but maybe after a year or two, I’ll just want a job that allows for sweatpants.

    • You can buy shoes that support your body that are not necessarily the size of a minivan. They’re a little more expensive, but if you work in a fancy restaurant, it’s not a crazy idea.

      • True, but people aren’t going to spend that kind of money if the boss doesn’t require it, and if the boss requires it, he/she should pay for the shoes, which they also don’t want to do, probably.

Leave a Reply

