Ironic Leather Jackets And Bluntness In New York

It is said how the Dutch are not afraid to speak their mind, are uncomparably straight-forward and always have something to say. I don’t know who said this, but I’d sure like to meet him and tell him exactly what I think of his crazy ideas. Don’t get the image I’m walking around giving unwanted opinions to total strangers, but there have been times where I noticed I was a little more blunt than people were expecting. One of those times was when I was shopping in New York City with my dad.

This should be what you get when you google ‘ironic leather jacket’. It’s not. Yet…

Before we left, I figured I didn’t need a coat. The rain, wind and low temperatures upon arrival proved me wrong, so we needed to go buy a coat. Of course, being European, one can only respect those Americans that are the least fashionable, because the choice in clothing can be horrifying (if you don’t know what I mean: remember that picture of white tennis shoes in a hunting store?). While looking for a coat, we came across a store that sold only leather jackets. After trying on about two of those, I realized I should only wear leather jackets to appear very ironic. I told the man that was looking for my next try I “didn’t like the leather all that much.” He looked at me, then around the store and decided to (rightly) refuse service from here on.

One thought on “Ironic Leather Jackets And Bluntness In New York

Leave a Reply

