Do They Have Internet In Europe? Part II

Part I may have suggested I don’t like getting questions about Europe. That wouldn’t be true. It shows people are interested and willing to look behind what they know. Imagine how scary things would be if they either didn’t want to know anything besides their own ways, or even worse, start telling me about Dutch culture without any factual knowledge whatsoever (I’m talking to you, mr. Santorum!). No, I do in fact like the questions that show people are interested and would want me to tell them. I like to ask a lot of questions whenever I meet people and have both the time and the feeling they can tell me something.

I'll answer anything, but just know you can go to the bathroom at all times.

I think questions are the way to a better understanding of the world. Some people say there isn’t such a thing as dumb questions. I disagree. What I do think is that asking a dumb question will never make you a dumber person. Not asking the questions would be preventing you to gain knowledge on a topic you clearly have to develop in. I used the word ignorance last time, but in the comments realized how ignorance has a negative connotation. When people simply don’t know, they should ask questions (and read this blog). Ignorant people wouldn’t ask the question, would they? In that light, I’ll keep answering any question.

Knowing I’ll answer anything: what would you like to know about the Netherlands?

20 thoughts on “Do They Have Internet In Europe? Part II

  1. Since you read my blog, you know that I’ve very recently become a person who “has religion”. I spent 32 years SICK TO DEATH of hearing from conservative Christians in America – it seems that you can’t throw a rock without hitting a Bible-thumper in this country. I’ve since learned that the very vocal, very conservative, very backward segment of my country’s Christian population does not, in fact, represent all Christians – yeah, I was shocked, too.

    So here’s my question – how vocal are people who “have religion” in the Netherlands? Is there a big evangelical movement? Do people want the whole world to know that they have the Bible tattooed across their chests, or is that more of a private matter for people in your neck of the woods?

    • I like that question. I went to an religious retreat for an evangelical organisation in the Netherlands once, and stayed with a fairly conservative (but not particularly traditional, if that makes any sense) couple there on another trip, but I haven’t encountered much of the Dutch religious tone for myself. Except in classes on church history.

      Cool–I wanna hear your answer to that question, too!

      • I think (although I could well be wrong) the place was called “DeBron,” but I can’t remember where the town was. I was working for a missionary organisation and they rented it out for their retreat/conference. I feel like I heard a few years later that they were either closing the centre down, or renovating it, but since I just googled it and can’t find it, I’m assuming it was the former.

      • Ah, De Bron doesn’t tell me anything. It’s one of those names that are wildly popular. Maybe 1 in 3 churches is named that. Maybe that could be it ;-). It could very well be closed. I think it’s so cool you were here.

    • Most Dutch would be shocked as well. Those very vocal conservatives even make their voices heard over here. We don’t have such a vocal movement. This calls for a short history of Dutch culture (which I might add here later as a seperate page), but basically being a christian here means you have your own world. Christianity is embedded into the culture (although challenged nowadays by that same culture). Due to pillarisation (Wikipedia for the full lecture), christian organizations are still in the public broadcasting system, newspapers, political parties and other aspects of society as a whole. That also explains a lot about the coexistence of christians and non-christians (in media and culture). In everyday life, I have found no differences in being a christian here and there. Feel free to ask more 🙂

    • Sports (football being by far the most popular(=soccer)), shopping, computers, television, going out for drinks in the summer. There’s not a big difference between Missouri and the Netherlands in this, except for different settings (there’s no space or guns for hunting here, we have shopping streets instead of malls, we cycle more…).

    • Popular? Italian dishes and French cuisine I’d say. Typically Dutch is stamppot (mashed dish) where potatoes, vegetables (e.g. cabbage, carrots, sprouts) are mashed together and served with meat. It’s a winter dish. We have our own saucage (rookworst) and fish (herring) is quite popular.

  2. Deutsch comes from Deutschland, which is what we call Germany in our own language. What would I like to know about the Netherlands?

    Do they still serve those yummy gingercakes with every cup of coffee one orders? Oh, when I was a kid the Dutch Royal Family cycled everywhere – do they still do that or has global terrorism put a stop to this charming “meet the peasants” pursuit?

    • I was secretly hoping you would know more about the topic of Dutch/Deutsch/German.
      I don’t know what yummy gingercakes you are referring to, but we do serve cookies or pastry with every cup of coffee. There’s a good chance yummy gingercakes are also in there. I haven’t seen the Royal Family cycling lately. They still do so, and the crown princes’ daughters are attending a local elementary school, where they probably cycle, so it must happen. Global terrorism didn’t put a stop to that, although there was a serious assault on the Royal Family in 2009, killing seven people by driving through a crowd in an attempt to hit the bus that had the Royals in it. Even though that might be even more of a threat than terrorism, I don’t think anything has really changed.

      • I’ll try to look up about the Dutch/German thing – goodness, I used to know all this stuff once upon a time. I remember the assault on the Royal Family in 2009 – awful. It’s what made me ask the question.

  3. Pingback: Do They Have Internet In Europe? Part III | visitingmissouri

Leave a Reply

