Tuesday Travel Blog: Ireland

I’m very sorry, but as none of you have offered sponsoring a long weekend to Missouri (yet), I sometimes need a little time to come up with fresh and new topics. Time to dig up an old themed Tuesday: the travel blog. Last summer, miss Missouri and I decided to from the Netherlands to the US via Ireland. This isn’t that weird, as Aer Lingus has a lay-over at Dublin and reasonable prices to the States. We just extended the lay-over for a few days.

Summer in Holland had been rainy and miserable, quite frankly. It’s March now, and I’ve had better weather this week than I’ve seen all July. In that perspective, Ireland wasn’t the best getaway. The skies were gray, it was raining about half of the time and even when it was sunny, you still had to wear a sweatshirt. The vacation itself was lovely, but aside from the cuteness that has no place in this blog, Ireland wasn’t all that great. Yes, I said that. We took a tour around the country, starting in Dublin, taking the train to Cork and from there took a bus tour. The bus drove us to the Cliffs of Moher (impressive), one castle ruin (well, it’s a castle ruin), one stronghold that was not a ruin (yet) and quite some public bathrooms. Seeing the Cliffs of Moher was by far the most impressive part. The one thing that keeps coming to mind however, is how Ireland is painted in two colors: green and grey. Green grass, covered in grey stones and finished with a touch of grey sky. I also liked walking around in Cork and Dublin, but neither came close to my favorite cities.

This is actually the Cliffs of Moher AND a castle ruin. I like to spoil my blog readers.

See? Green and grey.

To be fair, before you think you should burn all your plans of going to Ireland, we didn’t get to see Galway (supposedly the most beautiful city) and as it felt like a lay-over, I had Missouri on my mind.

Are you glad I waited with this one until St. Patrick’s Day was over?

What country do you want to visit some day?

18 thoughts on “Tuesday Travel Blog: Ireland

  1. I once took an art history class in college that convinced me I would like nothing more than to study the baroque art and architecture in Rome. I’m not normally an “art” guy, but Caravaggio was the man.

    And Ireland is still on my list. . . in fact, my friends at church are currently fund-raising for a church plant in Galway.

  2. Not Irish, still a little hurt……
    I think you haven’t seen the best places…..Howth, for example…. a real must-see when in Ireland!
    Another real must see? : Stockholm. Definitely Stockholm.

  3. You skipped my second home? Admittedly, the rain wouldn’t be missed, but it’s beautiful and definately worth a visit. Maybe next time you have a lay-over!

  4. If you haven’t been yet, Prague is gorgeous…and Bamberg in Germany (NOT my home town, I hasten to add). As for Ireland, I know what you mean, it’s many years since I went there, but it rained the entire time (August) and the cities were really dirty, although I remember Dublin was full of music.

    • I was in Prague once, but wasn’t all that impressed. But it was in winter, so I’ll have to come back at a better time to give it a second chance. Bamberg looks really cute on Google Images, but it’s too far for a short visit. I’m planning on Hamburg sometime soon, but I doubt it’s worth a TTB.

      • ..be careful what you say to a northern German who studied at Hamburg University, hehe! It’s a great city with lots to see and do. Bamber is easy to get to if you fly to Nuremberg and take the 40 minute train journey into Bamberg. There’s a train every ten minutes or so. Prague is great in April when all the trees are in blossom.

      • I want to see the harbor mainly, but it looked better than I thought it would when doing some research, so you’ve got my respect ;). Flying to Nuremberg to me means not easy. I hoped it would be as far as Koeln is for me. Those cities are fairly easy to get to within a day.

    • I was in Prague once, but wasn’t all that impressed. But it was in winter, so I’ll have to come back at a better time to give it a second chance. Bamberg looks really cute on Google Images, but it’s too far for a short visit. I’m planning on Hamburg sometime soon, but I doubt it’s worth a TTB.

Leave a Reply

