Suburban Life: Missouri Up Close

For those of you wondering: I have safely landed and now spend my days actually in Missouri. So far there’s not that much to tell you about, although I absolutely love walking around here. I feel like Mario, taking pictures of ordinary things. For instance, I had never seen a stamp vender machine that takes $1,75 in just quarters. Maybe not that exciting, but I sure took a picture of it. Last time I was here, I noticed having a lack of pictures of the ordinary things, so I guess I’m overcompensating now.

This blog never turned into a diary of my travels, so it will not be one when I’m over here (but Bas, this one is turning out that way). Posts will most likely be linked to present events though, as everything is so fresh. Yesterday I noticed something particular. It started snowing here, combined with a temperature decline I had rarely ever experienced. Wednesday marked a very nice day, with 59 degrees F (15C) and sun. Yesterday, the maximum temperature was around 29 F (-2C). In The Netherlands, such a decrease never goes by unnoticed. Trains run late, traffic jams occur and everybody starts complaining about how ‘two inches of snow have such in impact’. Turns out, we’re pretty tough. First of all, Americans spend a lot of time ‘outside’ in their cars. Cycling through this weather is a sign of toughness, so that’s one for the Dutch. Secondly, after seeing the snow fall down, schools closed and highways were done for. Highways turned into parking lots, with police officers (not that busy handing out speeding tickets) literally pushing cars uphill. I’ll be ready for your criticism, but I call it 2-0 for the Dutch. Bring it in the comments. GO!

6 thoughts on “Suburban Life: Missouri Up Close

  1. Mwhahaaa! You in a big city? That makes a big difference. Country folk are used to having to get places without help. Well that, and we tend to have 4-wheel drive.

  2. Welcome, and enjoy your stay. To be fair to My Fair City, I’ve lived here my whole life, and I have never once seen the highway department mess up as badly as they did yesterday. But cycling? In this??!! Ha!! Sincerely–A Native St. Louisan.

  3. You have it half right – the southern part of the United States does not function well with cold, snowy weather. An inch of snow can shut down Texas roads, but I finally understand why.

    Roads in the south are often elevated highways, connecting to each other via steep, curving ramps. There is no way to keep these from icing over and are dangerous.

    You move further north and you have people outside in T-shirts in 32 degree weather (after it was below zero for weeks). My brother goes to university in Iowa and rides his bike to class in just about everything. I lived for over 25 years in Iowa and while the first cold snap might hit you hard, you quickly adapt.

    I have walked through blizzards to get to class, because classes were canceled after the interstates were closed.

    I have now adapted to Texas, and anything below 40 feels cold. 😉

    • I think it’s not that hard to adopt to Texas. I bet the other way around would take more effort. Also, when reading your Iowa story, I kinda feel I have to give ‘you’ a point back for being tough. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

