This One’s Not About Sex, Money or Religion

One of the basic rules of networking is to avoid four heavy topics: sex, money, religion and politics. For Americans, sex is an easy topic to avoid. Politics on the other hand are impossible to avoid.

The country breathes politics. Driving around for ten minutes, you will see bumper stickers that confirm every stereotype there is about Americans (probably also because loud, annoying, biased and hard-headed people like bumper stickers the most). When I was in California, I saw a lady walking around in a shirt that said: ‘Slaves had their healthcare taken care of too’. Although I wondered why she was proud of a country that takes better care of its slaves than its poor, I didn’t ask. Also, I know I am biased, no need to point that one out.

Besides the bumper sticker madness, there was room for hand fans saying ‘Republicans are cool’, giant billboards and forcing opinions when in normal conversations. I didn’t mind any of those. I’m just not used to it. Even in my class, I don’t know about most peoples voting preferences, but in Missouri I could sometimes find out in about two minutes. Of course, you don’t have to chose from  over ten different parties, so that does make it easier to define someone’s party. It’s a subject that will present itself anywhere you go. As I’m planning to come over in the 2012 summer, I have one thing to tell you: bring it on for 2012. Entertain me.

8 thoughts on “This One’s Not About Sex, Money or Religion

  1. Sex is an easy subject to avoid in public here, but in smaller groups, it gets quite, ah…explicit. 😉 I’m w/you on avoiding politics. No pajango in my front yard. Nobody’s business but my own.
    Oh one thing though. If America would pattern its healthcare after working models in other nations instead of trying to put a capitalistic privatization spin on it, then we’d probably not have all this hee haw over it. No one trusts the insurance companies.

    • Funny you should mention your last point; I believe most countries are trying to add a capitalistic spin on healthcare, privatising right and left, because the initial government funded way got too expensive… I think there’s a long way to go before trust and insurance companies go well together.

      • Now that’s a interesting fact. Okay then, maybe we’re all going to have to get on the privatization bandwagon about this because really, we do need something to cover everyone. It’s the how that’s been the kicker. There’s just so much graft when the government gets involved with their lobbyist friends the insurance companies. (Sigh) Big mess. Big mess all around.

      • I think the biggest challenge for the US (when wanting to cover everyone) is that they’ll have to work out something entirely new in a very hostile environment and very limited resources. The point from which to build is different than European countries that started their social welfare in the 1960’s and are now realizing they cannot keep it up. Nowadays the role of pharmaceutical and pharmaceutical companies is so much bigger that a whole new system has to be developed and this is not a great time, financially speaking, to introduce such programs. Big mess indeed, but if you (let me just say you here) get out of this, I believe it will make the country so much stronger. Thanks for commenting in such an insightful way by the way, I really enjoy that.

  2. You cannot talk about politics in the workplace and I recommend you avoid it elsewhere to. Unless you live in a rural setting where most people will likely have more conservative outlooks on life. In metropolitan areas talking about politics will only get you in trouble.

    • In my experience, people START talking to me about politics, whereas I have always learned to avoid it when on a not-too-close basis (like a working environment). This could partly be due to the fact I am European, which seems to spark a certain amount of interest in people, but I also noticed an overwhelming political coating on everyday life (this is where my examples come from). Where I come from, there is no political notion in everyday life, no such thing as bumper stickers or clearly stated preferences. The difference between that and clearly stated beliefs and preferences struck me. Thanks for stopping by and commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

