Hail Capitalism: It’s Random-Day-Sale!

When I was in Saint Louis, I went shopping. Some major differences occured, one of them was most striking. First of, let me explain how I am used to shopping. There’s two times in a year where shopping occures: spring and fall. In the spring, winter clothes are on sale, in the fall you can get summer clothing for a good price. Of course, the Americans decided to do it another way. I’m not saying it is better, I’m saying I like it better.

In the US, it’s sale everywhere and every day. With my budget, I didn’t shop at the most expensive stores and I’m sure they are out there, but I was amazed by the amount of clothing I could get for so little money. One of the things that helped, must have been the endless amount of excuses to have a sale. Bare with me. I arrived in August, so of course it was just the season for ‘back-to-school’ sale. Neat. I’m used to it, but most of the times it means all notebooks (the paper ones) are twice as expensive as normally. After back-to-school sale, when I was about to leave, I thought sale season would be over. Little did I know there is a seemless blending into labour-day-sale. After labor-day-sale, people can probably go to halloween-sale, christmas-sale, new-years-sale, hooray-a-month-after-new-years-sale, easter-sale, isn’t-this-nice-weather-sale and finally, we’re back to back-to-school-sale.

It’s capitalism at it’s best. Where else in the world could I buy a brand new Levi’s jeans for less than $20? I’ll tell you where, Morocco, but I bet it’s as genuine as my Ray Ban sunglasses (a whooping $4). Also, before I left the Euro was actually a valuable currency, so I bought a brand new pair of jeans for less than E15. In comparison, the one time I bought such jeans it was meant to be torn apart one day later. As with many times throughout my travels, I sometimes thought Americans were totally crazy, but seeing the prizes, I knew two things:

  • I’m never shopping in The Netherlands ever again.
  • This is perfect when you’re in the middle of an economic crisis. And I was.
Leave a Reply

